As an out of state applicant, how many trips will I need to make to West Lake Hills during the hiring process?
Generally two trips are necessary. One trip will be for the initial physical fitness test and the Oral Interview Board and the second will be for the psychological evaluation and medical / drug screen. Contact us at 512-327-1195 or email Police Department Recruiting for more information.
Can I be considered if I have used marijuana or other drugs / narcotics in the past?
This will depend on the time of the last usage and frequency of usage. The minimum requirements state no drug usage within the past 5 years and no marijuana use within the last 3 years.
What will happen if I intentionally omit important information or am found to be deceptive in the hiring process regarding my background history?
Honesty and integrity are important facets of police work. If you are found intentionally omitting important information or being deceptive, you will be permanently disqualified from the hiring process.
I have been disqualified or was previously disqualified from the hiring process. How long is it before I can reapply?
That depends on why you were disqualified. If you had one of the permanent disqualifiers, you are ineligible to reapply. You may reapply after one year if you fail the oral board or psychological examination. Any other disqualification will result in a minimum disqualification of one year or possible permanent disqualification.
Do I have to live in West Lake Hills to be a West Lake Hills police officer?
No, you do not have to live in West Lake Hills to serve as a police officer.
Does the West Lake Hills Police Department have policies on tattoos and facial hair?
Yes. Our policy states that officers can have visible tattoos, as long as they are not offensive, and no tattoos above the collar. Facial hair is allowed, but it must be kept neat. Please reach out to us at 512-327-1195 or email Police Department Recruiting with any questions.
Are there any age or physical limitations on who can apply to be a police officer?
A police officer must be at least 21 years old to be licensed in Texas. There is no maximum age limit to apply for the West Lake Hills Police Department.
Do I have to attend a police academy?
Yes, unless you are already Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) certified, you will be required to complete or be attending an accredited police academy prior to applying with us.
Does the West Lake Hills Police Department offer lateral transfers for police officers?
Yes, we do have a lateral transfer program. Additional information about this program can be found on the Lateral Transfer Program page.
May I submit a resume?
Yes, you may submit a resume at the time of application.
Where can I get an application and personal history statement?
Does the West Lake Hills Police Department furnish all of my uniforms and equipment?
Yes, the West Lake Hills Police Department will furnish you all the required uniforms and equipment you will need to start work with us.
When do benefits start?
Benefits start on the first day after you are hired.
What shifts do patrol officers work?
Our patrol officers work 12 hour shifts. We work either 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. or 6:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m., with every other weekend off. We rotate shifts approximately every 3 months.
What are the main areas that disqualify applicants?
The main areas which disqualify applicants include:
Excessive drug use
Failure of any test
Poor credit history
Poor driving record
Poor educational performance
Unstable or unacceptable work history
Do I need to turn in my application and personal history statement first?
No. The first step in the application process is to fill out our quick one page preliminary applicationhere.Once that is submitted, a member of our recruiting team will reach out to you to schedule a time to take the 2000m Concept2 row test.
I am a police officer in another state. What is the process of being licensed in Texas?
Go to the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) website and review the Out of State Application Process in the Forms and Applications section. Out of state officers must complete the mandated training and may challenge the state test for certification.